top of page

Welcome to "Does Pot Cure Cancer?"


I want to thank everyone who has partnered with us so far to make this film a reality. I want to send a heartfelt thank you to all of the donors and let you know your perks are coming soon. The Does Pot Cure Cancer T shirts are in production and should ship in the next few weeks to everyone who donated. So far the money we raised has gone primarily to travel expenses for me to meet with doctors and scientists across the country. I had the opportunity to film at the Marijuana For Medical Professionals Conference in Denver, and through this process have made some amazing friends. I first started this project two years ago and have been raising money piecemeal as I have needed it. It has been a slow, frustrating and at times disappointing process. Recently as I reflected on why I wanted to create this film in the first place I came to a major decision about the project. It's exciting but also scary. I have decided to quit my full time job to work on Does Pot Cure Cancer? Full time until the completion of the film and here is why... I lost my mother to breast cancer 7 years ago. She was diagnosed in March 2009 and given two years to live. I went with her to her doctors appointments and chemo treatments. I watched as her body grew weaker. It was obvious to me that the cancer and the chemo were both killing her and so I began to research alternatives. My research led me to a lot of information about diet, nutrition and eventually cannabis. Like most people I thought medical marijuana was about getting high for pain relief, with the added benefits of anti nausea and appetite stimulation. What I quickly learned was that this was just scratching the surface of the research that was being done about this plant. The government had been claiming that there wasn’t enough research, but there are over 40,000 studies! What they really meant is that there are no human clinical trials because they wont permit them. So much has happened in the past 2 years since I began this film. Washington and Colorado states fully legalizing the plant has really opened many peoples eyes, and it brings tears to my eyes to think about the millions of people that now have safe access to this amazing and SAFE medicine. When my mother passed I was devastated. She was 53 years old. My son will never know his grandmother. And When I think about how much she would have loved him it breaks my heart. I went into a deep depression and struggled with the grief for years. I am most angry about the fact that her death could have been prevented. Her sickness could have been prevented if the information about cannabis, if the science behind how cannabis nourishes the human body. Through the generosity of the last crowd funding support I was able to make the connections necessary to reach the medical cannabis community. Several researchers including Dr. William Courtney, Dr. Robert Melamede, Mara Gordon and many others have not only agreed to be a part of the project but have expressed excitement! We are also going to be telling the stories of several patients using medical cannabis. Their stories need to be told, and they need to be heard. We have budgeted a total of $30,000 on top of the $3200 that has already been donated to completely finish film. The budget breakdown is approximately 46% or about 14 thousand dollars for crew expenses, 13% or $3900 for Travel, 40% or $12,000 for Post Production and about 2 and a half percent for other miscellaneous costs. We would also be happy to take bitcoin, gifted airline miles, plane tickets, graphics work or other services. I am committed to making this film to educate people about cannabis. Through that education I hope to demystify the science, and dispel the controversy. I have learned so much in the past 2 years, I cant wait to share it with you....I cant bring my mother back, but I can honor her memory by trying to help as many people as I can survive cancer. Thank you in advance for partnering with me to educate people and literally save lives.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page